History

Erewash Valley Golf Club at Stanton by Dale was founded in 1905, as a nine hole course and by late 1907 it had been extended to eighteen holes. One of which was a par 6 played over a road and two hedges. The clubhouse was then a room rented from Willow Farm, now the dining room and Kitchens. In 1907 the club bought a second hand guard van to use as Changing and Locker rooms. This only lasted until 1910, when a clubhouse was built at a total cost of £59. It was enlarged in 1920 and again in 1923.

During the 1914-1918 War the course reverted to a nine hole layout and parts were ploughed, the rest given over to grazing sheep. In 1920 Mr Charles Crompton who had been the president since its inception gave the Club the 108 acres of land which formed the course. This was a magnificent gesture and one from which we all still benefit.

By 1923 the course layout was finalised and was played as such until the advert of the M1. It was a very tight short course in those days and it was quite possible to go out of bounds at all but one hole. The construction of the M1 over the course commenced in 1965, with the last golf played on the old course in February of that year.

From 1965 to 1976 a number of different layouts were played. However, for the last 35 years the course has not been altered drastically, the most recent alteration being the construction of a par 3 (Dallager) on the old practice ground. This along with the winter 1st (Spring) allows one to play a different configuration in the winter, when the two quarry holes are taken out of play. This is why we have a course planner with 20 holes and it is also for this reason we name the holes rather than number them on the tee information boards.

The course has very little rough, but extensive tree planting makes straight drives imperative; water comes into play on three holes, Memorial, Church Walk and Willow Farm and it is possible to go out of bounds on 10 Holes. There are two blind drives at Church Walk and O’er the Trees. Please ring the bell when you are clear.

There is also a 16 acre practice area adjacent to the clubhouse as well as putting greens.

In 2008 the clubhouse was vastly extended to allow for two bar restaurant areas which can be separated as private and member function rooms greatly improving a unique dining experience.

At the same time new and enlarged locker and changing rooms were added to the club enriching the facilities for all members and visitors.

The course is two miles from junction 25 on the M1 located midway between Nottingham and Derby.

The Course

Erewash Valley is a superbly manicured championship golf course with wonderful tree lined fairways, enchanting views, numerous water hazards and represents a formidable challenge, whatever your level of expertise.

Set in 165 acres of prime parkland, this charming and delightful course endowed with character and featuring the world renowned "Quarry Holes" is a golfing experience not to be missed.

The course and legendary hospitality at "Erewash" will ensure that your very own private or corporate visit will be long remembered.

Course Status
Currently open
17.08.2017 06:02
Quarry holes open. Trolleys and buggies permitted. Tee reserve times... Members roll-up 09.30-10.20 & EVGC Match 15.40-17.00.
News
  • Membership News
    newsthumbnail
  • Membership News
    newsthumbnail